Is Your Classroom Equitable?

Shannon Brown
2 min readMar 2, 2023

A self-reflection tool for early childhood educators and providers

This month I will finish a project that included developing four professional trainings on equity in the early childhood classroom. During this project, I struggled to find an easy-to-use checklist or observation tool that could help educators design their classrooms and teaching practices to be more equitable. The closest I came was this tool, adapted from “A Resource for Equitable Classroom Practice 2010”, which I decided to update for today’s early childhood classrooms. My hope is that teachers and administrators can use this tool to assess their starting points, create achievable goals, and measure their progress. This resource was designed with 3, 4, and 5 year olds in mind, but can be adapted further for toddler classrooms. Happy reflecting!

Find the printable resource here.

I welcome feedback — please send me a message or comment on the piece.

--

--

Shannon Brown

Early Childhood Educator. Currently in: Los Angeles, California