I’ve Lived in 8 Countries Pt.1

Shannon Brown
8 min readNov 4, 2022

Practical advice on moving abroad.

If you are moving to a new country, or even just considering it, you might be feeling overwhelmed and unsure where to start. While every individual situation is unique, here are the three pieces of advice I offer when someone asks me how to move to a new country: do the research, come prepared, and be patient. This article is part 1 of 3: Do the Research.

Vietnam, 2018

Do the Research

The first time I moved abroad, I was 19. I can’t remember if I asked a single question beyond where I would be living and what the weather would be like. In the 15 years since, I have developed a guide for myself whenever I am evaluating a country move.

Romania, 2007. This was the weather.

Logistical Questions

What kind of electricity is used in the country? This is a simple question that many people forget to ask. While you can purchase all-in-one converters, it’s often smarter to get one that specifically works in the country you are moving to. Figure out if they have three-prong plug-ins, round or square plug-ins, and what wattage your electronics are before packing. Electronics that you will probably be able to use a converter…

--

--

Shannon Brown

Early Childhood Educator. Currently in: Los Angeles, California